Undergraduate Committee (UGCom) Advising and Mentorship

In addition to getting advising from our professional advisors regarding major requirements and experiential learning opportunities, CSE majors can meet with our CSE Undergraduate Committee members who offer advising and mentorship on many topics including , but not limited to: 

  • Job/internship opportunities and how  to get them
  • Career path options
  • How to get involved in research
  • What a particular sub-field is about
  • Course enrichment opportunities 

If you would like to connect with any of our committee members, feel free to email them or stop by their office hours: 

Instructor Name Office Number / Room # Email Areas of specialty / interests: (i.e applying to graduate school, AI, software engineering, preparing for interviews, etc)
Alvarado, Christine CSE 2110 cjalvarado@eng.ucsd.edu Research (grad school, connecting with professors here), varied career paths for CS majors, support for students from underrepresented groups
Gao, Sicun CSE 2126 sicung@ucsd.edu Research (grad school, AI, robotics, etc.)
Gillespie, Gary CSE 2204 ggillespie@ucsd.edu General questions, resumes, industry, being professional, writing advice.
Griswold, William CSE 3118 wgg@eng.ucsd.edu Research, grad school, careers, software engineering
Impagliazzo, Russell CSE 4248 russell@eng.ucsd.edu Research, theory, study tips, problem-solving, graduate school
Martindale, Nicole (Student Rep) CSE 2109 nmartind@ucsd.edu CSE student involved in tutoring, undergraduate research (ERSP), interning at an on-campus lab (CaliT2), resource referral, and campus opportunities
Ord, Rick CSE 2102 rord@ucsd.edu General questions. Not research.
Politz, Joseph CSE 3206 jpolitz@eng.ucsd.edu Applying to grad school, internships, interviewing
Dr. Riek CSE 2116 lriek@eng.ucsd.edu Research, grad school, robotics ; support for students from underrepresented groups

 

 

Submit feedback for UGCom here

Students - UGCOM wants to hear from you!  Please use the form linked above to anonymously submit feedback about your experience as a student in the CSE department.