Undergraduate Committee (UGCom) Advising and Mentorship

In addition to getting advising from our professional advisors regarding major requirements and experiential learning opportunities, all students can meet with our CSE Undergraduate Committee members who offer advising and mentorship on many topics including, but not limited to: 

  • Job/internship opportunities and how  to get them
  • Career path options
  • How to get involved in research
  • What a particular sub-field is about
  • Course enrichment opportunities 

If you would like to connect with any of our committee members, feel free to email them or stop by their office hours: 

Instructor Name Office Number / Room # Email Areas of specialty/interests:

Berg-Kirkpatrick, Taylor

  tberg@eng.ucsd.edu

Applying to graduate school, getting involved in research, artificial intelligence

Available to meet remotely via Zoom. See calendar below for more info.

Coblenz, Michael CSE 3246  mcoblenz@ucsd.edu

Software engineering, programming languages, human-computer interaction, PhD after time in industry.

Available to meet in person OR remotely via Zoom. Email to schedule Zoom meeting. See calendar below for more info.

Impagliazzo, Russell CSE 4248 russell@eng.ucsd.edu

Research, theory classes, graduate school

Available to meet by appointment only. Please email: russell@eng.ucsd.edu 

Minnes, Mia

(Chair)

CSE 4206  minnes@eng.ucsd.edu

Theory classes, tutoring, student orgs, undergraduate research / outside projects, internships, diversity in STEM

Available to meet remotely via Zoom. See calendar below for more info.

Politz, Joseph CSE 3206 jpolitz@eng.ucsd.edu

Grad school, education outreach, software engineering, technical interviews

Available to meet in person OR remotely via Zoom. See calendar below for more info.

Schulman, Aaron CSE 3120  schulman@eng.ucsd.edu

Career path, Getting involved in research, IoT, Wireless Communication

Available to meet in person. See calendar below for more info.

Soosai Raj, Adalbert Gerald CSE 2106 gerald@eng.ucsd.edu

Computing education research (CER), diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI), applying to graduate school, internships, undergraduate research experience, CS outreach, common issues like dealing with failures, handling stress, imposter syndrome, etc.

 Available to meet remotely via Zoom. See calendar below for more info.

Vaccaro, Kristen

CSE 3226

kvaccaro@eng.ucsd.edu

Recommendation letters, talking about projects in interviews, interactive and social computing.

Available to meet remotely via Zoom. See calendar below for more info.

Zhao, Jishen CSE 3222 jzhao@ucsd.edu

Grad school, research, computer architecture, machine learning for systems

Available to meet remotely via Zoom. See calendar below for more info.

 

 

Submit feedback for UGCom here

Students - UGCOM wants to hear from you!  Please use the form linked above to anonymously submit feedback about your experience as a student in the CSE department.