Undergraduate Committee (UGCom) Advising and Mentorship

In addition to getting advising from our professional advisors regarding major requirements and experiential learning opportunities, all students can meet with our CSE Undergraduate Committee members who offer advising and mentorship on many topics including, but not limited to: 

  • Job/internship opportunities and how  to get them
  • Career path options
  • How to get involved in research
  • What a particular sub-field is about
  • Course enrichment opportunities 

If you would like to connect with any of our committee members, feel free to email them or stop by their office hours: 

Instructor Name Office Number / Room # Email Areas of specialty/interests:

Berg-Kirkpatrick, Taylor

  tberg@eng.ucsd.edu

Applying to graduate school, getting involved in research, artificial intelligence

Available to meet remotely via Zoom. See calendar below for more info.

Impagliazzo, Russell CSE 4248 russell@eng.ucsd.edu

Research, theory classes, graduate school

Available to meet in person. See calendar below for more info.

Minnes, Mia

(Chair)

CSE 4206  minnes@eng.ucsd.edu

Theory classes, tutoring, student orgs, undergraduate research / outside projects, internships, diversity in STEM

Available to meet remotely via Zoom. See calendar below for more info.

Politz, Joseph CSE 3206 jpolitz@eng.ucsd.edu

Grad school, education outreach, software engineering, technical interviews

Available to meet in person OR remotely via Zoom. See calendar below for more info.

Schulman, Aaron CSE 3120  schulman@eng.ucsd.edu

Career path, Getting involved in research, IoT, Wireless Communication

Available to meet in person. See calendar below for more info.

Soosai Raj, Adalbert Gerald CSE 2106 gerald@eng.ucsd.edu

Computing Education Research, Diversity in Computing, Programming Interviews, Graduate School, Internships, Undergraduate Research Experience, CS Outreach, Excelling as a TA/Tutor, Dealing with Failures, and Imposter Syndrome.

On leave Fall 2021. 

Vaccaro, Kristen

CSE 3226

kvaccaro@eng.ucsd.edu

Recommendation letters, talking about projects in interviews, interactive and social computing.

Available to meet remotely via Zoom. See calendar below for more info.

Zhao, Jishen CSE 3222 jzhao@ucsd.edu

Grad school, research, computer architecture, machine learning for systems

Available to meet remotely via Zoom. See calendar below for more info.

 

 

Submit feedback for UGCom here

Students - UGCOM wants to hear from you!  Please use the form linked above to anonymously submit feedback about your experience as a student in the CSE department.