Undergraduate Committee (UGCom) Advising and Mentorship

In addition to getting advising from our professional advisors regarding major requirements and experiential learning opportunities, CSE majors can meet with our CSE Undergraduate Committee members who offer advising and mentorship on many topics including , but not limited to: 

  • Job/internship opportunities and how  to get them
  • Career path options
  • How to get involved in research
  • What a particular sub-field is about
  • Course enrichment opportunities 

If you would like to connect with any of our committee members, feel free to email them or stop by their office hours: 

Instructor Name Office Number / Room # Email Areas of specialty / interests: (i.e applying to graduate school, AI, software engineering, preparing for interviews, etc)
Gillespie, Gary CSE 2204 ggillespie@ucsd.edu

General questions, resumes, industry, being professional, writing advice. 

Available by appointment only. 

Griswold, William CSE 3118 wgg@eng.ucsd.edu Research, grad school, careers, software engineering
Politz, Joseph CSE 3206 jpolitz@eng.ucsd.edu Grad school, education outreach, software engineering, technical interviews
Dr. Riek CSE 2116 lriek@eng.ucsd.edu Research, graduate school, and robotics
Impagliazzo, Russell CSE 4248 russell@eng.ucsd.edu Research, theory classes, graduate school
Soosai Raj, Adalbert Gerald CSE 2106 gerald@eng.ucsd.edu Undergraduate computing education research, technical interviews, grad school, teaching careers, CS outreach
Swanson, Steven CSE 3212 swanson@cs.ucsd.edu Grad school, research, systems, architecture

 

 

Submit feedback for UGCom here

Students - UGCOM wants to hear from you!  Please use the form linked above to anonymously submit feedback about your experience as a student in the CSE department.