CSE Undergraduate Student Awards

Congratulations to our 2023 award recipients!

Jacobs School of Engineering Award for Excellence

The CSE department nominates one graduating CSE senior undergraduate for the Jacobs School of Engineering Ring Ceremony Award for Student Excellence.  For this award, only undergraduate CSE majors are eligible, graduated/graduating in Fall 2022, Winter 2023, Spring 2023, or Summer 2023.

Yash Shah, 2023

Eman Sherif, 2022

Priyal Suneja, 2021

Weiyang Frank Wang, 2020

Barbara He, 2019

Rahul Sabnis, 2019

Victor Chen, 2018

Kyle Buzsaki, 2017

Kyle Huynh, 2017

Huang Li, 2016

Sandra Hui, 2016

Jennifer Lu, 2015

Kirsten Koa, 2014

The CSE Department distributes awards to our undergraduate students to recognize and applaud exemplary performance in research, teaching, service, and contributions to diversity.

Excellence in Research

Mark Barbone & Quanling Zhao, 2023

Colin Young & Alexandra Michael, 2022

Kabir Nagrecha, 2021

Honorable Mention: David Cao, 2021

Honorable Mention: Maximilian Apodaca, 2021

Guangyan Cai, 2020

Honorable Mention: Kabir Nagrecha, 2020

Honorable Mention: Sara Safa, 2020

Christopher Moyes, 2019

Honorable Mention: Xuanang (Leon) Li, 2019

Honorable Mention: Purisa Jasmine Simmons, 2019 

Julia Len, 2018

Honorable Mention: Gustavo Umbelino, 2018

Honorable Mention: Chad Atalla, 2018

Honorable Mention: Lucy Li, 2018 

Deqian Kong, 2017

Honorable Mention: Charles Packer, 2017

Honorable Mention: Anastasia Petrova, 2017

Maya Nyayapati, 2016 

Asha Camper Singh, 2016

Honorable Mention: Jorge Pacheco, 2016 

Honorable Mention: Bryce Woodworth, 2016

Antonella Wilby, 2015

Honorable Mention: Anthony Lopez, 2015 

Honorable Mention: Max Shen, 2015

Excellence in Teaching

Alessia Welch, 2023

Honorable Mention: Lexseal Lin, 2023

Savannah Collyer & Sravya Balasa, 2022

Aidan Denlinger, 2021

Darya Verzhbinsky, 2021

Rachel Lim, 2021

Honorable Mention: Charles Yu, 2021

Honorable Mention: Eric Van Grinsven, 2021

Honorable Mention: Vincent Ma, 2021

Nate Brown, 2020

Sabeel Mansuri, 2020

Albert Sterling Christensen, 2019 

Honorable Mention:  Robin Josephine Osekowsky, 2019

Honorable Mention:  Derek Tse, 2019

Liz Izhikevich, 2018

Honorable Mention:  David Justo, 2018

Rachel Keirouz, 2017 

Honorable Mention: Amanda Luff, 2017

Honorable Mention: Alec Brickner, 2017

Kacy Espinoza, 2016

Jacob Maskiewicz, 2015

Honorable Mention: Sneha Yelimeli, 2015 

Honorable Mention: Josh Marxen, 2015

Excellence in Service & Leadership

Thomas Rexin & Stone Tao, 2023

Erin Griggs and Vasundhara (Vas) Sengupta, 2022

David Dempsey, 2021

Nicole Martindale, 2021

Priyal Suneja, 2020 

Honorable Mention:  Madeline Sporkert, 2020

Hasan Al - Jamaly, 2019

Nicole Martindale, 2019 

Connor Smith, 2018

Honorable Mention:  Anish Kannan, 2018

Boming Eric Cheng, 2017 

Eric Fakhourian, 2016

Brandon Russell, 2015

Excellence in Contributions to Diversity

Audria Saravia Montalvo, 2023

Niharika Bhaskar, 2022

Yada Chuengsatiansup, 2021

Nidhi Bangari, 2020

Priyal Suneja, 2019

Honorable Mention:  Kaylie Lu, 2019

Honorable Mention:  Melissa Esther Wright, 2019

Sothyrak Srey, 2018

Honorable Mention:  Qiqi Wu, 2018

Lucy Chian, 2017

Honorable Mention: Jessica Yang, 2017 

Chyheim Jackson-Burgess, 2016

Eliah Overbey, 2015

Alice Y. Wu Memorial Award

Ryan Lay, 2023


The Alice Y. Wu Memorial Award is open to undergraduate students who are juniors or seniors with demonstrated academic success, and who are Computer Science majors. More specifically, the award aims to support those students in Computer Science who are also involved in campus, community leadership or volunteer experience with humanitarian causes.