Theory Seminar

If you are interested in giving a talk, email Shachar Lovett. For previous talks, please see the theory seminar archive. For more data on the theory group, please see the theory group website.


Winter 2020

All talks are on Monday 2-3pm to be held on Zoom Meeting. The zoom link is https://ucsd.zoom.us/my/csetheoryseminar. The password is the name of this seminar (6 lowercase letters).

Jeroen Zuiddam (NYU)
Monday, January 4, 2020, 2:00pm
Tensor Tools for Problems in Combinatorics and Complexity
Details

Robi Bhattacharjee (UCSD)
Monday, January 11, 2020, 2:00pm
No-substitution Online k-means Clustering with Adversarial Order
Details

Monday, January 18, 2020, 2:00pm
No seminar (Martin Luther King day)

Eshan Chattopadhyay (Cornell)
Monday, January 25, 2020, 2:00pm
Explicit Designs and Extractors
Details

Fotis Iliopoulos (Princeton)
Monday, February 1, 2020, 2:00pm
Efficiently list-edge coloring multigraphs asymptotically optimally
Details

Omri Weinstein (Columbia)
Monday, February 8, 2020, 2:00pm
Arithmetic Data Structure Lower Bounds and Binary Compressed Sensing
Details

Monday, February 15, 2020, 2:00pm
No seminar (Presidents' day)

Shubhangi Saraf (Rutgers)
Monday, February 22, 2020, 2:00pm
Reconstruction algorithms for low-rank tensors
Details

Sam McGuire (UCSD)
Monday, March 1, 2020, 2:00pm
Lower bounds for the dense model theorem and computational entropy
Details

Gillat Kol (Princeton)
Monday, March 8, 2020, 2:00pm
Interactive Error Correcting Codes and the Magical Power of Adaptivity
Details