CNS in 2023: the Annual Research Review

May 25, 2023
Industry representatives and the CNS community at the 2023 CNS Research Review

By Kimberley Clementi

The Center for Networked Systems (CNS) held its annual CNS Research Review at the UC San Diego Computer Science and Engineering Building on May 4 and 5. Now in its second decade, the invitation-only event introduced industry members from Cisco, Google, Qualcomm and eight additional company representatives to the latest research from CNS students and faculty.

The event included 18 research talks, eight two-minute lightening talks and nine poster presentations. A dinner reception was held at the 15th-floor meeting rooms at Seventh College, overlooking La Jolla’s scenic Black’s Beach. The event was hosted by Stefan Savage and George Porter, CNS co-directors and professors in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering.

“Our guests enjoy the CNS Research Review because it intersects with real-life challenges in their industries and broadens the depth and breadth of related research.  At the same time, our students benefit from casual conversations with industry leaders,” said CNS Administrative Manager Jennifer Folkestad.

CNS has expertise across a wide range of applied research areas involving computer networking, systems, security and related policy. In each area, affiliated faculty and students address emerging real-world problems in partnership with member companies. The CNS Research Review mirrors this approach, providing CNS graduate students the opportunity to present a talk to industry guests and elicit insights on the practical problems addressed by their research.

Over the course of two days, research talks were presented by four CNS affiliated-faculty members: Amy Ousterhout, Geoffrey Voelker, and Earlence Fernandes from CSE and Christian Dameff, MD from the Department of Emergency Medicine. Fifteen CNS/CSE graduate students also gave talks, including (in order of appearance): Amanda Tomlinson, Alex Bellon, Zhiyuan Guo, Enze “Alex” Liu, Caleb Stanford, Zesen “Jason” Zhang, Audrey Randall, Yuhao Zhang, Kabir Nagrecha, Alex Yen, Tianyi Shan, Evan Johnson, Yibo Guo, Keegan Ryan and George Arnold Sullivan.