Graduating PhDs in 2006-2007

Jeannie Albrecht

Advisor: Amin Vahdat and Alex Snoeren
Dissertation Title: Distributed Application Management
Current Employment: Williams College; Williamstown, MA; Assistant Professor -Tenure Track
home page   jalbrecht@cs.ucsd.edu


John Bellardo

Advisor: Stefan Savage
Dissertation Title: Secure and Efficient Wireless Networks
Current Employment: California Polytechnic State University; San Luis Obispo, Ca; Assistant Professor tenure; www.csc.calpoly.edu.
home page   bellardo@csc.calpoly.edu


Kristin Branson

Advisor: Serge Belongie
Dissertation Title: Tracking Multiple Mice through Severe Occlusions
Current Employment: Caltech University; Pasadena, Ca; Postdoc in Electrical Engineering
home page   kbranson@cs.ucsd.edu


Hongyu Chen

Advisor: C.K. Cheng
Dissertation Title: On-Chip Interconnect Architectures: Perspectives of Layout, Circuits, and Systems
Current Employment: Synopsys, Inc.; Sunnyvale, CA; Senior Research and Design Engineer
home page   hchen@cs.ucsd.edu


Weihaw Chuang

Advisor: Brad Calder
Dissertation Title: Maintaining Safe Memory for Security, Debugging, and Multi-Threading
Current Employment: Peakstream Inc.; Redwood Shores, CA; Technical Staff
home page   wchuang@cs.ucsd.edu


Craig Donner

Advisor: Henrik Wann Jensen
Dissertation Title: Toward Realistic Image Synthesis of Scattering Materials
Current Employment: UCSD; San Diego, CA; Postgraduate Researcher
home page   cdonner@cs.ucsd.edu


Douglas Harrell

Advisor: Geoffrey Voelker
Dissertation Title: Theory and Technology for Computational Narrative: An Approach to Generative and Interactive Narrative with Bases in Algebraic Semiotics and Cognitive Linguistics
Current Employment: Georgia Institute of Technology; Atlanta, GA; Assist Professor - tenure track
home page   redfox@cs.ucsd.edu


Alejandro Hevia

Advisor: Daniele Micciancio
Dissertation Title: Anonymity and Independence in Multiparty Protocols
Current Employment: University of Chile; Santiago, Chile; Assistant Professor
home page   ahevia@cs.ucsd.edu


Yuanfang Hu

Advisor: Chung-Kuan Cheng
Dissertation Title: On-Chip Interconnection Architecture Optimization Using A Multicommodity Flow Approach
Current Employment: Mentor Graphics; San Jose, CA; Senior Software Engineer
home page   yhu@cs.ucsd.edu


Hector Jasso

Advisor: Garrison Cottrell
Dissertation Title: A Reinforcement Learning Model of Gaze Following
Current Employment: SDSC-UCSD; La Jolla, CA; Researcher
home page   hjasso@cs.ucsd.edu


David Kauchak

Advisor: Charles Elkan
Dissertation Title: Contributions to Research on Machine Translation
Current Employment: Adchemy Inc; Redwood City, CA; Research Scientist and Stanford University; Palo Alto, CA; Assistant Professor- Summer School
home page   dkauchak@cs.ucsd.edu


Rakesh Kumar

Advisor: Dean Tullsen
Dissertation Title: Holistic Design for Multi-Core Architectures
Current Employment: University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; Chicago, Il; Assistant Professor tenure-track
home page   rakumar@cs.ucsd.edu


Jeremy Lau

Advisor: Brad Calder
Dissertation Title: Predicting Performance Across Compilations
Current Employment: Google; Mountain View, CA; Software Engineer
home page   jl@cs.ucsd.edu


Jianhua Liu

Advisor: Chung Cheng
Dissertation Topic: Contemporary Data Path Design Optimization
Current Employment: Altera; San Jose, CA; Software Engineer
home page   j11liu@cs.ucsd.edu


Jia Mao

Advisor: Ron Graham
Dissertation Title: On the Design and Worst-Case Analysis of Certain Interactive and Approximation Algorithms
Current Employment: Goldman Sachs; New York, NY; Strategist - Associate
home page   jiamao@cs.ucsd.edu


Sean Peisert

Advisor: Sidney Karin
Dissertation Title: A Programming Model for Automated Decompostition on Heterogeneous Clusters of Multiprocessors
Current Employment: UC Davis; Davis, CA; PostDoc
homepage   peisert@sdsc.edu


Erez Perelman

Advisor: Brad Calder
Dissertation Title: Characterizing Time Varying Program Behavior for Efficient Simulation
Current Employment: Cypress Semi Conductors; San Diego, CA; PHD Coop
home page   eperelma@cs.ucsd.edu


Kiran Tati

Advisor: Geoffrey Voelker
Dissertation Title: Exploiting Heterogeneity in Peer-To-Peer Systems
Current Employment: VM Ware; Palo Alto, CA; Technical Staff
home page   ktati@cs.ucsd.edu


Xinran (Ryan) Wu

Advisor: Andrew Chien
Dissertation Title: Distributed Fair Bandwidth Sharing for Lambda Networks
Current Employment: Microsoft; Redmond, WA; Sr. Software Design Engineer
home page   xwu@cs.ucsd.edu


Huaxia Xia

Advisor: Andrew Chien
Dissertation Title: RobuSTore: A Distributed Storage Architecture with Robust and High Performance
Current Employment: Google Inc.; Mountain View, CA; Software Engineer
home page   hxia@cs.ucsd.edu


Xu Xu

Advisor: Andrew B. Kahng
Dissertation Title: Optimizations of Manufacturability and Manufacturing in Nanometer-Era VLSI
Current Employment: Magma Design Automation; San Jose, CA; Consulting Staff
home page   xuxu@cs.ucsd.edu


Xianan (Shannon) Zhang

Advisor: Keith Marzullo
Dissertation Title: Fault-Toleramt Grid Services
Current Employment: VM Ware; Palo Alto, CA; Technical Staff
home page   xzhang@cs.ucsd.edu


Haikun Zhu

Advisor: Chung Cheng
Dissertation Title: High-Performance Low-Power VLSI Design
Current Employment: Qualcomm Inc; San Diego, CA; Senior Design Engineer
home page   hazhu@ucsd.edu