Theory Seminar

If you are interested in giving a talk, email Shachar Lovett. For previous talks, please see the theory seminar archive. For more data on the theory group, please see the theory group website.

All talks are on Monday 2-3pm in CSE 4258, or via zoom: meeting id - 92079322198, password - name of seminar (6 lowercase letters).


Fall 2021

Monday, September 27, 2021, 2:00pm
Social meeting

Ray Li (Stanford)
Monday, October 4, 2021, 2:00pm
Approximating graph diameter: algorithms, hardness, and hardness of hardness
Details

Gill Williamson (UCSD)
Monday, October 11, 2021, 2:00pm
Sets of Instances to Subset Sum Target Zero that are Solvable in Polynomial Time but Very Hard to Find
Details

Daniel Beaglehole (UCSD)
Monday, October 18, 2021, 2:00pm
Learning to Hash Robustly, with Guarantees
Details

Preetum Nakkiran (UCSD)
Monday, October 25, 2021, 2:00pm
Theory for Deep Learning, and Deep Learning for Theory
Details

Psi Vesely (UCSD)
Monday, November 1, 2021, 2:00pm
Proofs for Inner Pairing Products and Applications
Details

Gabrielle De Micheli (UCSD)
Monday, November 8, 2021, 2:00pm
TBD

Saeed Seddghin (TTIC)
Monday, November 15, 2021, 2:00pm
TBD

Robi Bhattacharjee (UCSD)
Monday, November 22, 2021, 2:00pm
TBD

Jonathan Tidor (MIT)
Monday, November 29, 2021, 2:00pm
TBD