Theory Seminar

If you are interested in giving a talk, email Daniel Kane. For previous talks, please see the theory seminar archive. For more data on the theory group, please see the theory group website.


Spring 2020

All talks are on Monday 2-3pm to be held on Zoom Meeting (meeting link: https://ucsd.zoom.us/my/csetheoryseminar , use password "theory"), unless noted otherwise.

Ivan Mikhailin (UCSD)
Monday, March 30, 2020, 2:00pm
A new approach to KRW conjecture
Details

Sam Buss (UCSD)
Monday, April 6, 2020, 2:00pm
CDCL Sat Solvers, and DRAT proofs with and without new extension variables
Details

Rayan Saab (UCSD)
Monday, April 13, 2020, 2:00pm
Binary data embeddings: Theory and Applications
Details

Eric Price (UT Austin)
Monday, April 20, 2020, 2:00pm
Separations and equivalences between turnstile streaming and linear sketching
Details

Jelani Nelson (UC Berkeley)
Monday, April 27, 2020, 2:00pm
Optimal terminal dimensionality reduction in Euclidean space
Details

Christos Tzamos (UW Madison)
Monday, May 4, 2020, 2:00pm
PAC Learning of Halfspaces with Noise: Efficient algorithms for the Massart and Tsybakov models
Details

Manuel Sabin
Monday, May 11, 2020, 2:00pm
How Do We Define "Fair" Responsibly?
Details

Prashant Vasudevan
Monday, May 18, 2020, 2:00pm
Cryptography from Information Loss
Details

No Talk (Memorial Day)
Monday, May 25, 2020, 2:00pm

Jessica Sorrell (UCSD)
Monday, June 1, 2020, 2:00pm
Simpler Statistically Sender Private Oblivious Transfer from Ideals of Cyclotomic Integers
Details