CSE Colloquium and Distinguished Lecture Series, 2012-2013

Leslie Lamport (Microsoft) [Distinguished Lecturer Series]
Monday, April 22, 2013, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details
 


Arvind Krishnamurthy (University of Washington) [Distinguished Lecturer Series]
Monday, April 15, 2013, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details
 


John Langford (Microsoft Research) [Distinguished Lecturer Series]
“Learning from lots of data”
Monday, March 11, 2013, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


Partha Ranganathan (Hewlett Packard Labs) [Distinguished Lecturer Series]
"Green clouds and black swans: (Re)Designing data-centric data centers
"
Thursday, February 21, 2013, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


Katherine Yelick (UC Berkeley) [Distinguished Lecturer Series]
"Antisocial Parallelism: Avoiding, Hiding and Managing Communication"

Monday, February 11, 2013, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


Srini Devadas (MIT) [Distinguished Lecturer Series]
“EM2, Angstrom and Ascend: Processor Building at MIT”

Wednesday, January 30, 2013, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


Joe Hellerstein (UC Berkeley) [Distinguished Lecturer Series]
“Keep CALM and Query On”

Thursday, January 17, 2013, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


Naehyuck Chang
"Hybrid Electrical Energy Storage Systems"

Monday, January 14, 2013, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


Sandeep K. Shukla
"Deliver us from  the Tyranny of Synchronization"

Monday, January 7, 2013, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


David Ungar (IBM Research) [Distinguished Lecturer Series]
"Race & Repair: Rethinking Programs for Manycore"

Monday, December 3, 2012, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


Balakrishnan Narayanaswamy (Carnegie Mellon)
"Intelligence in the smart grid: Online optimization under uncertainty and a connection to Model Predictive Control" 

Monday, November 19, 2012, 11:00 am
EBU1, Room 2512
Details


Philipp Koehn (University of Edinburgh) [Distinguished Lecturer Series]
"Open Problems in Machine Translation"

Monday, November 5, 2012, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


Christine Alvarado (UCSD)
“LogiSketch: A Free-Sketch Recognition System for Creating Digital Logic Diagrams”

Monday, October 29, 2012, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


Stefan Savage (UCSD)
"Buying Drugs For Science: Addressing Cybercrime From An Economic Perspective"

Monday, October 22, 2012, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


Larry Smarr (UCSD)
"Towards Digitally Enabled Genomic Medicine"

Monday, October 15, 2012, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details


Jason Mars (UCSD)
''Rethinking the Architecture of Warehouse-Scale Computers''

Monday, October 8, 2012, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details
 


Lingjia Tang (UCSD)
''Mitigating Resource Contention in Warehouse-scale Computers''

Monday, October 1, 2012, 11:00 am
EBU3B, Room 1202
Details