Graduating PhDs in 2005-2006

Sameer Agarwal

Advisor: Serge Belongie
Dissertation Title: Learning From Higher Order Relations
Current Employment: University of Washington, Seattle; Seattle, WA; Post Doc; Computer Science
home page   sagarwal@cs.ucsd.edu


Andrey Balmin

Advisor: Ioannis Papakonstantinou
Dissertation Title: Management of Structured XML Data
Current Employment: IBM Almaden Research Center; San Jose, CA; Research Staff Member
home page   abalmin@cs.ucsd.edu


Leeann Bent

Advisor: Geoff Voelker
Dissertation Title: Informed Web Content Delivery
Current Employment: Google; Mountain View, CA; Software Engineer; www.google.com
home page   lbent@cs.ucsd.edu


Xiaofeng Gao

Advisor: Allan Snavely and Larry Carter
Dissertation Title: Reducing Time and Space Cost for Memory Tracing
Current Employment: Microsoft Center for Software Excellency; Redmond, WA; Research and Development; www.microsoft.com/Windows/CSE/default.mspx
home page   xgao@cs.ucsd.edu


Flavio P Junqueira

Advisor: Keith Marzullo and Geoff Voelker
Dissertation Title: Coping with Dependent Failures in Distributed Systems
Current Employment: Yahoo Research; Barcelona, Spain; Researcher
home page   flavio@cs.ucsd.edu


Eugene Hung

Advisor: Joeseph Pasquale
Dissertation Title: Behavior -Based Remote Executing Agents
Current Employment: YIBM; San Jose, CA; Software Engineer
home page   eyhung@cs.ucsd.edu


Tadayoshi Kohno (Yoshi Kohno)

Advisor: Mihir Bellare
Dissertation Title: Authenticated Encryption in Practice: Generalized Composition Methods and the Secure Shell, CWC, and WinZip Schemes
Current Employment: University of Washington; Seattle, WA; Assistant Professor, Computer Science Department
home page   tkohno@cs.ucsd.edu


Derrick Kondo

Advisor: Henri Casanova and Andrew Chien
Dissertation Title: Scheduling Task Parallel Applications for Rapid Turnaround on Desktop Grids
Preferred Employment: Unknown
home page   dkondo@cs.ucsd.edu


Anton Mityagin

Advisor: Mihir Bellare
Dissertation Title: Protocols and Security Proofs for Data Authentication
Current Employment: Microsoft Research; Redmond, WA; Research Scientist
amityagin@cs.ucsd.edu


Sagnik Nandy

Advisor: Jeanne Ferrante and Larry Carter
Dissertation Title: Large Scale Autonomous Computing Systems
Current Employment: Google; Mountain View, CA; Researcher; www.google.com
home page   snandy@cs.ucsd.edu


Alan Nash

Advisor: Jeff Remmel, Russell Impagliazzo, and Victor Vianu
Dissertation Title: Foundations of Information Integration
Current Employment: Aleph One LLC; La Jolla, CA; Founder and Manager
home page   anash3@gmail.com


Adriana Palacio

Advisor: Mihir Bellare
Dissertation Title: On Identification, Zero-Knowledge, and Plaintext-Aware-Encryption
Current Employment: Bowdoin College; Brunswick, ME; Assistant Professor, Computer Science
home page   apalacio@cs.ucsd.edu


Mikhail Petropoulos

Advisor: Yannis Papakonstantinou
Dissertation Title: Exporting and Utilizing Database Interfaces on the Web
Current Employment: University at Buffalo SUNY; CSE Department; Assistant Professor; Buffalo, NY; www.cse.buffalo.edu/~mpetropo
home page   mpetropo@cs.ucsd.edu


Sherief M. Reda

Advisor: Andrew Kahng
Dissertation Title: New Approaches for Placement and Benchmarking of CMOS and Gene Chips
Current Employment: Brown University; Engineering Department; Assistant Professor; Providence, RI
home page   sherief_reda@brown.edu


Liying Sui

Advisor: Victor Vianu
Dissertation Title: Specialization and Verification of Interactive Data-Driven Web Applications
Current Employment: Microsoft; Software Design Engineer; San Jose, CA
home page   lsui@cs.ucsd.edu


Renata Teixeira

Advisor: Geoff Voelker
Dissertation Title: Network Sensitivity to Intradomain Routing Changes
Current Employment: Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) at the Laboratoire d'informatique de Paris 6 (Lip6); Researcher; Paris, France
home page   rteixeir@cs.ucsd.edu


Guilian Wang

Advisor: Joseph Goguen
Dissertation Title: Schema Mapping for Data Transformation and Integration
Current Employment: Intuit; San Diego, CA
home page   guilian@cs.ucsd.edu


Qinke Wang

Advisor: Andrew Kahng
Dissertation Title: Analytical Methods for VLSI Module Placement
Current Employment: Magma Design Automation; Santa Clara, CA; Senior Technical Member
home page   qiwang@cs.ucsd.edu


Joshua J. Wills

Advisor: Serge Belongie
Dissertation Title: Data Analysis Methods for Motion Segmentation and Material Reflectance
Current Employment: Sony Imageworks; Culver City, CA; Software Engineer, Intermediate
home page   josh@cs.ucsd.edu


Yu Xu

Advisor: Yannis Papakonstantinou
Dissertation Title: Optimizations of Manufacturability and Manufacturing in Nanometer-Era VLSI
Current Employment: Unknown
home page   yxu@cs.ucsd.edu


Yang (Teddy) Yang

Advisor: Henri Casanova and Jeanne Ferrante
Dissertation Title: Scheduling Divisible Load in Multiple Rounds
Current Employment: Amazon.com; Seattle, WA; Software Development Engineer
home page   y3yang@cs.ucsd.edu


Bo Yao

Advisor: C.K. Cheng
Dissertation Title: Physical Planning of VLSI Layout
Current Employment: Mentor Graphics Corp.; San Jose, CA; Software Development Engineer
home page   byao@cs.ucsd.edu


Weifeng Zhang

Advisor: Brad Calder and Dean Tullsen
Dissertation Title: Event-Driven Multithreaded Dynamic Optimization
Current Employment: Microsoft; Seattle, WA; Software Design Engineer
home page   weifeng@ucsd.edu


Shuo Zhou

Advisor: Chung Cheng
Dissertation Title: Static Timing Analysis in VLSI Design
Current Employment: Synopsys; San Jose, CA; Research and Design Engineer
home page   szhou@cs.ucsd.edu